Appointments, achievements

Tina Brock (Director of Pharmacy Education at Monash U, wins Proctor and Gamble’s national leadership award for pharmacy education.

Kerrie Campbell (IT chief at Flinders U) is Telstra’s South Australian Business Woman of the Year.

Steven Chown (Monash U) is a new member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. So is Loeske Kruuk (ANU) and Aileen Morton Robinson (RMIT)

Jane Elith (Uni Melbourne) is elected an international member of the (US) National Academy of Science.

Ray Fleming leaves Microsoft, where he was HE lead, for Google to be HE education projects manager.

Julie Jomeen joins Southern Cross U as head of Health and Human Sciences. She moves from University of Hull. Yes, she sat out arrival quarantine.

Ann Keep is announced as director of Uni Queensland’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies unit. She takes-over next month.

Kathy Nicholson becomes operations manager at the University of Adelaide’s Australian Institute for Machine Learning.

Sarah Pearce from CSIRO Astronomy and Space is the NSW Telstra Business Woman of the Year.

Macquarie U’s Centre for Ancient Cultural Heritage announces Ronika Power as new director.

Jane Visvader (Walter and Eliza Hall) is elected a fellow of the Royal Society.

Mike Zuber (Uni Queensland) wins the Partington Prize for the study of alchemy and chemistry


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education