Appointments, achievements

Of the day

The Australian Academy of Science announces the J G Russell Awards, which top up funding for Australian Research Council Discovery Early Career Research Awards; Blanca del Rosal Rabe (Swinburne U), Annie Colebatch (ANU), Laura Grogan (Griffith U), James Baker (Uni Sydney). The academy also announces similar funding, from the Douglas and Lola Douglas Awards, for National Health and Medical Research Council scholarship winners Roxanne Jones (ANU) and Emily Papadimos (Menzies School of Health Research).

Christy Collis joins USQ as associate director for academic development. She moves from QUT.

 Larry Forbes (U Tas) wins the ANZ Institute for Industrial and Applied Mathematics 2020 Medal. for Matt Simpson (QUT) wins the mid career, E O Tuck Medal.  Jennifer Flegg (Uni Melbourne) receives the new researcher J H Michell Medal and Rose Crocker (Uni Adelaide) the T M Cherry student prize.

Alistair Stark (Uni Queensland) wins the American Political Science Association’s Lasswell prize for a dissertation in public policy.

 Of the week

Peta Ashworth is appointed inaugural director of Uni Queensland’s Andrew N Liveris Academy for Innovation and Leadership.

 Kade Brown becomes strategy director at RMIT Online. He moves from consultants Strategic Project Partners.

Leon de Bruin joins the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music as a lecturer. He moves from Monash U.

Terry Hughes, (James Cook U) is joint-winner of a BBVA Foundation award for coral reef studies. BBVA is a Spanish bank.

Griffith U appoints artist Carol McGregor to oversee its Contemporary Australian Indigenous Art programme.

Grady Venville steps up to be DVC A at ANU. She was acting in the job last year and had been PVC Education since April ’18. “Grady has dealt effectively with numerous ‘wicked’ problems, and she is always a calm, reasoned and effective voice during even the toughest of situations, including those we are facing presently,” VC Brian Schmidt said yesterday.

Joanne Wallis will leave ANU’s Strategic and Defence Studies Centre mid-year, to become professor of international security at Uni Adelaide.