Appointments, achievements

The Australian Academy of Science announces its inaugural STEM women change-makers;

* Emma Camp (UTS). * Ruwangi Fernando (STEM Sisters). * Momeneh Foroutan (Monash U). * Muireann Irish (Uni Sydney). * Tishiko King (Indigenous Women in Mining and Resources Australia). * Marit Kragt (UWA). * Jerusha Mather (Victoria U). Mary McMillan (UNE). * Kirsty Nash (aKIDemic Life). * Jessie Panazzolo (Lonely Conservationists). * Catherine Royans (Uni Adelaide). * Tanya Smith (Griffith U).

CMM missed the early January appointment of Steffen Faurby as MD of NSW TAFE. Mr Faurby moves from running NSW’s State Transit Authority.

Jayanthi Jayakaran becomes dean of people and resources for Flinders U’s College of Medicine and Public Health. She moves from ED medical services for the Barossa Hills-Fleurieu Local Health Network.

University of Notre Dame Australia announces that as of next month John Lippitt will be the new director of the Institute of Ethics and Society, at the Sydney campus. His wife Sylvie Magerstäd will also take up a position there, in the School of Arts and Sciences. They both move from the University of Hertfordshire.

Alta Schutte joins UNSW as principal for a new research area – cardiac, vascular and metabolic medicine. She joins from North-West University in South Africa.