Appointments, achievements

In July Margaret Barrett will become a professor in Monash U’s school of music. She is to move from the University of Queensland.

Tanya Buchanan is the new chair of NEAS (“quality assurance services for everyone in the English Language Teaching community”).

Emma Camp (UTS) and Allison Broad (Uni Wollongong) win the Academy of Science’s Max Day awards. They provide funding for early stage PhD or early career researchers in environmental sciences.

Angus Cook joins the Council of Australian University Librarians as manager for content procurement. He moves from Springer Nature.

Diane Smith-Gander is appointed board chair of the UWA Business School.

Colin Higgins becomes director of global programmes at Deakin U. He moves up from MBA Director.

Rebecca Johnson will leave the Australian Museum Research Institute in the new year. She is moving to the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.

At the Australian Wine Research Institute in Adelaide Mark Krstic will step up to become MD. He is to replace Dan Johnson, who goes to Macquarie U in the new year. Dr Krstic is the AWRI’s business development manager.

Simon Leunig is to be PVC and president of Curtin U Malaysia. He moves up in January from associate Curtin’s DVC International and ASEAN dean.

Sarah O’Shea is the new director of the National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education, based at Curtin U. She moves from Uni Wollongong, replacing Sue Trinidad who stands down after seven year.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education