Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 Bran Black is leaving UNSW to return to state government. Mr Black was the founding director of the NUW alliance (above) and has spent this year as the university’s “chief of strategic initiatives”.

 Andrew Vincent joins Australian Catholic U as director, digital education. He moves from Swinburne U.

The Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education announces its 2019 awards

Distinguished reviewer: Rachael Adlington, UNE

Community fellow: Colin Simpson, Monash U

Emerging scholar: Kwong Nui Sim, Victoria U of Wellington

Emerging scholar: Carol Johnson, Uni Melbourne

Innovation award: * Christian Morrow, Bond U * Shamim Joarder, Macquarie U * Brent Gregory, Lisa Harris, Uni New England

Of the week

Flinders U announces Gary Stewart joins as professor of creative arts and promotes Sarah Harmer-Bassell, to become its first woman professor of physics.

 David Harvey (UNSW) wins the Australian Mathematical Society medal for 2019. Belinda Spratt (QUT) was honoured for early career teaching. The Gavin Brown Prize for published work went to Zdravko BotevJoseph Grotowski and Dirk Kroese, all Uni Queensland.

Melitta Hogarth (QUT) and Sally Patfield (Uni Newcastle) are joint winners of the Australian Association for Research in Education’s Ray Debus award for doctoral research.

Julie Jomeen will join Southern Cross U as head of the School of Health and Human Sciences. She moves from the University of Hull.

Fiona Kelly is new dean of the La Trobe University law school. She has been with LT U’s law school since 2013. She replaces Patrick Keyzer who now holds a research chair at LT U law (CMM May 23).

Aileen Moreton-Robinson moves to RMIT in the new year to become a professor of Indigenous research. She leaves QUT, which will honour her as an emeritus professor at a graduation ceremony today.

Shane Murray (Monash U dean of art, design and architecture) is appointed a life fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects.

Monash U announces its professional staff awards,  here.  And the VC’s awards for education and research are  here.

Swinburne U’s VC awards are here.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education