Appointments, achievements

David Gardner (Uni Melbourne) with colleagues from Japan and Germany, wins the American Society for Reproductive Medicine’s 2019 Basic Science Award.

The Sydney Conservatorium of Music announces Liza Lim will hold the Sculthorpe Chair of Australian Music. The chair is funded by a bequest from the late composer Peter Sculthorpe.

Martie-Louise Verreynne is leaving Uni Queensland’s business faculty, where she is deputy head, to become PVC research and innovation in RMIT’s College of Business next year. She will rejoin former head of Uni Queensland’s biz school, Julie Cogin who moved to become RMIT’s PVC business in April.


Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering announces 25 new Fellows

* Douglas Bock, CSIRO. * Lynn Booth, Defence Science and Technology Group. * Gunilla Burrowes Eighteen04 Inc. * Helen Cleugh, CSIRO. * Martin Cole, CSIRO. William Cox, Aurecon. * Melinda Hodkiewicz, UWA. * Emma Johnston, UNSW. * Sandra Kentish, Uni Melbourne. * David Lloyd, Uni SA. * Romilly Madew, Infrastructure Australia. * Neena Mitter, Uni Queensland. * * Adrian Mouritz, RMIT University. * Saeid Nahavandi, Deakin University. * Ranjith Pathegama Gamage. Monash Uni.  * Elaine Saunders, Blamey Saunders Hears. * Andy Sheppard, CSIRO. * Surinder Pal Singh CSIRO. * Jan Tennent, Biomedical Research Victoria. * Alison Todd, SpeeDx. * Nicolas Voelcker, Monash U. * Chien Ming Wang, Uni Queensland. * Huanting Wang,
Monash U. * Anthony Wood, Grattan Institute. * Zoe Yujnovich, Shell Australia.

Plus * Foreign Fellow: Francesca Ferrazza, Eni, Italy. * Hon Fellow: John Anderson, former deputy PM. Board-elected Fellow: Dr Andrew Thomas, NASA


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education