Appointments, achievements

Of the day

 Sandy Evans (UNSW) is inducted into the Graeme Bell Hall of Fame (named for an Australian jazz great, honouring Australian jazz greats). You can hear why when she plays Thursday at Venue 505, Cleveland St, Surry Hills in Sydney. (What, CMM a jazz-head – where did you get that idea?).

Daniel Thomas and Kamala Thriemer are each awarded a $1.25m CSL Centenary Fellowship. Dr Thriemer will “develop and optimise” treatments for virax malaria in South East Asia and Africa. She works at the Menzies School of Health Research in Darwin. Aspro Thomas will use the fellowship to research personalised cancer treatments, at the South Australia Health and Medical Research Institute and Uni Adelaide.

Mining engineer and company director Xiaoling Liu will become QUT’s chancellor next year. Dr Liu will replace Tim Fairfax who stands-down after seven years.

Of the week

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences announced 42 new fellows yesterday, the full list is in Thursday’s CMM.

Caroline Duell joins MTP Connect (the federally-funded medtech and pharma growth centre). She is the new comms-events director.

Southern Cross U announces coral reef researcher Dr Daniel Harrison joins its National Marine Science Centre in Coffs Harbour. That’s, Daniel, not Peter, Harrison. Professor Peter is a coral reef researcher at SCU’s Lismore campus. No, they are not related, yes, they plan to collaborate.

Liz Johnson is confirmed as DVC E at Deakin U – she has been acting in the role for 12 months.

Robin Doss (Deakin U) is the Australian Information Security Association’s Cyber Security Researcher of the Year.

John McGrath (Uni Queensland) is awarded the (US) Brain and Behaviour Research Foundation’s Lieber Prize for schizophrenia research.

Jackie Leach Scully joins UNSW as director of its Disability Innovation Institute. She has moved from Newcastle University in the UK.

At Uni Newcastle, Tina Crawford, previously director, people and workforce strategy becomes inaugural director, diversity and inclusion.  

The Australian Academy of Science Medal is awarded to Space Agency head Megan Clark and Peter Yates, chair of the Australian Science Media Centre and the Royal Institution of Australia.

Nic Smith is to be the new provost of QUT, commencing March. He joins from the University of Auckland where he is dean of engineering.

Jane Visvader and Geoffrey Lindeman (Walter and Eliza Hall) win the Brinker award for basic science in breast cancer research from Dallas based, Susan G Korman, “the world’s leading breast cancer organisation.”


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education