Appointments, achievements

Kerry Sanderson will be the next chancellor of Edith Cowan U. She replaces Hendy Cowan who is to stand-down after 14 years as chancellor. Mrs Sanderson was governor of Western Australia for nearly four years, finishing in May.

Umberto Ansaldo is to join the arts and social sciences faculty at the University of Sydney. Professor Ansaldo is a scholar of linguistic diversity, language contact and multilingualism in Asia. He is now head of humanities at the University of Hong Kong.

The Australia Historical Association awards are announced.

W K Hancock Prize (first book): Miranda Johnson (University of Sydney)

Serle Award (best PG thesis): Anne Rees (La Trobe U)

Kay Daniels Award (convict history): Joan Kavanagh (Ireland) and Dianne Snowden (University of Tasmania)

Magarey Medal (best biographical writing by a woman): Alexis Wright (novelist and commentator)

Jill Roe Prize (unpublished writing by a p/g):  Alexandra Roginski (ANU)

Allan Martin Award (research fellowship for e/c historians): Peter Hobbins (University of Sydney)


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education