Appointments, achievements

Of the day

David Wright is the new chief operating officer of the Food Agility Cooperative Research Centre. (He’s also a partner in CMM).

Ryan Winn is the incoming CEO of the Australian Council of Learned Academies. He joins from the Department of Education where achievements include work on the National Research Infrastructure Roadmap (2016) and las year’s Research Infrastructure Investment Plan.

Davina Porock joins Edith Cowan U as its 21st professorial research fellow. She returns to ECU, where she did her PhD 20 years ago, from Sheffield Hallam University. Professor Porock researches end of life care.

Of the week

 Jozef Gecz is South Australia’s scientist of the year. Professor Gecz is head of neuogenetics research at the University of Adelaide.

Climate scientist Sophie Lewis (UNSW) is the ACT scientist of the year.

The SA premier’s science and innovation council has a new membership; Caroline McMillen, (Chief Scientist) chairs. Members are Philip Marcus Clark, Food Agility CRC. Matthew Gilliham, Uni Adelaide.  Sarah Harmer-Bassell, Flinders U. Emily Hilder, UniSA. Andre Luiten, Uni Adelaide. Sanjay Mazumdar (KPMG). Julie Phillip, Aus Biotech. Steve Wesselingh, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute and Beth Worrall, Microsoft.

Brigid van Wanrooy is appointed director of the Analysis and Policy Observatory, (“an open-access evidence platform for public policy and practice) at Swinburne U. Dr Wanrooy joins from the Victorian Government’s Department of Health and Human Services.

Belinda MacGill and Karen Sinclair (both Uni SA) are awarded the Menzies Australia Institute’ 2019 Aboriginal and Contemporary Australian Studies Fellowships. The fellowships are based at Kings College London.

Monash U’s Centre for Scholarship in Health Education reports deputy director Claire Palermo is now a fellow of the Dietitians Association of Australia.

Dr Kate Brooks joins MTP Connect as director, WA stakeholder engagement. MTP Connect is the federal government’s Industry Growth Centre for med tech and pharma.

Peter Poulet joins Western Sydney U as professor of practice architecture. Professor Poulet is a former NSW government architect.

Phil Bland (planetary science – Curtin U) and Robert Newton (medical and health sciences – Edith Cowan U) are WA’s scientists of the yearAdam Cross from (mine site restoration – Curtin U) is early career scientist.

The 2019 Victorian Premier’s awards for health and medical research are announced. Kate McArthur, from Uni Melbourne and Walter and Eliza Hall Institute wins the excellence and basic research categories

James Wallman joins UTS as head of the School of Life Sciences. He moves from the University of Wollongong.

Tim Roach joins Edith Cowan U to lead professional development in the School of Business and Law. Mr Roach joins from the Australian Tax Office.

Gene Bawden becomes head of design in Monash U’s faculty of Art, Design and Architecture. He is now deputy head.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education