Appointments, achievements

Phil Bland (planetary science – Curtin U) and Robert Newton (medical and health sciences – Edith Cowan U) are WA’s scientists of the year. Adam Cross from (mine site restoration – Curtin U) is early career scientist.

The 2019 Victorian Premier’s awards for health and medical research are announced * Excellence and basic science awards: Kate McArthur, Uni Melbourne and Walter and Eliza Hall Institute. * Clinical researcher: Mary Ann Anderson, Uni Melbourne and WEHI. * Public health researcher: Vincent Cornelisse, Monash University, Melbourne Sexual Health Centre and The Alfred Hospital. * Health services: Kylie Dyson, Monash U. Aboriginal researcher: Mishel McMahon, La Trobe U.

James Wallman joins UTS as head of the School of Life Sciences. He moves from the University of Wollongong.

Tim Roach joins Edith Cowan U to lead professional development in the School of Business and Law. Mr Roach joins from the Australian Tax Office.

Gene Bawden becomes head of design in Monash U’s faculty of Art, Design and Architecture. He is now deputy head.


to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education