Appointments, achievement, exit

Of the day

Matthew Harding is appointed interim dean of Uni Melbourne’s law school for 12 months. He replaces Pip Nicholson who moves to DVC People and Community.

Troy Heffernan (La Trobe U) is leaving La Trobe U, moving to the University of Manchester’s Institute of Education.

 Of the week

 The new Australian Research Council advisory committee: Chris Moran (DVC R – Curtin U) is chair. Members are, * Calum Drummond (RMIT) * Mark Hutchinson (Uni Adelaide) * Mark McKenzie,  (Council of Small Business Organisations Australia)  * Mirjana Prica (Food Innovation Australia) * Michelle Simmons UNSW) * Deborah Terry Uni Queensland) * Maggie Walter (Yoorrook Justice Commission)

The Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology announces its 2022 honours. MedalsMichael Lazarou (the IMR formerly known as Walter and Eliza Hall and Monash U), Leann Tilley (Uni Melbourne). AwardsWael Awad (Monash U), Saw Hoon Lim (Uni Melbourne). FellowshipsJacinta Conroy (Uni Queensland), Chris Horne (also Walter and Eliza Hall), Tess Malcolm (Uni Melbourne), Yanxiang Meng (the IMR formerly known as Walter and Eliza Hall).

 Bob Cowan (Uni Melbourne) wins the lifetime achievement award from Cooperative Research Australia (the CRC Association as was). The hearing researcher and audiologist led the HEARing CRC, 1992-2019.

Andrew Fraser will become Griffith U chancellor in September. Mr Fraser is now in business, after serving as deputy premier and treasurer in state Labor governments.

Ian Fry (ANU) is the UN’s inaugural Special Rapporteur on human rights and climate change.

Alan Gamlen (social scientist specialising in human migration) joins ANU’s School of Regulation and Global Governance. He moves from Uni Oxford.

Michael Green is in-coming CEO at Uni Sydney’s United States Studies Centre. He moves from the Centre for Strategic and International Studies in Washington.

Catherine Grummer joins Charles Sturt U as COO. She moves from corporate services head at TAFE NSW.

Lucy Johnston joins Uni Canberra as DVC Research and Enterprise. She moves from PVC in a similar role at Murdoch U.

QUT Chancellor Xiaoling Liu will step down in June for personal reasons. Deputy Chancellor Peter Howes leads the search for a successor.

Vanessa McDonald (Uni Newcastle) receives the Thoracic Society of ANZ’s 50th anniversary medal for education and training.

Sebastion Marx returns to Uni Sunshine Coast as Manager, Future Students.

David Cameron-Smith starts at the University of Newcastle at the Ourimbah campus, in  the new role of professor of food innovation. He moves from the Singapore Institute for Clinical Sciences.

Julie Quinlivan becomes Curtin U’s Dean of Medicine.  She is now an adjunct professor at Uni Notre Dame Australia and chair of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology ACT Committee.

Winners in the Victorian Premier’s Awards for Health and Medical Research are, Rebecca Goldstein: health services (Monash U) * Xiaodong Li: basic science (Monash U) * Rachel Nelligan: clinical researcher (Uni Melbourne) * Angela  Dos Santos: Aboriginal researcher (Australian Stroke Alliance) * Roshan Selvaratnam: public health (Monash U) *  Christina Zorbas: public health (Deakin U)

The 2023-24 Whitlam-Fraser professors of Australian Studies at Harvard U are Brenda Croft (ANU) and Katie Holmes (La Trobe U).