James Angus is inaugural chair of the Cumming Global Centre for Pandemic Therapeutics, at the Peter Doherty Institute. The centre has $250m from Canadian philanthropists Geoff and Anna Cumming (CMM September 1 2022).

Rob Brown becomes head of CQU’s Mackay campuses, he moves from leading CQU in WA.

Members of the Commonwealth’s new National Women’s Health Advisory Council include, Deb Loxton (Uni Newcastle), Gita Mishra (Uni Queensland), Robyn Norton (George Institute), Cathy Vaughan (Uni Melbourne), Zoe Wainer (Uni Melbourne)

ANU’s Brian Schmidt is the new Group of Eight chair. Mark Scott (Uni Sydney) is deputy.