Appointment, achievements

Genevieve Bell becomes inaugural director of ANU’s new School of Cybernetics, (“a new approach to engineering and technology design”). She moves from the university’s 3A Institute.

 At Macquarie U VC awards go to;

*education leader: team of, Andrea Chareunsy (Economics) Nathan Daczko (Natural Sciences) Joanne Dawson (Math and Physical Sciences) Prashan Karunaratne (Actuarial Studies, Business Analytics) Matt Owers (Math and Physical Sciences Natalie Spence (Science and Engineering),

* teaching: Riza Casidy (Marketing) * learning innovation: Helen Siuki (Marketing) * learning and teaching, early career: Maggie Klee  (Actuarial Studies and Business Analytics) * learning and teaching, sessional: Joshua Fitzgerald (Chiropractic) * student-nominated: Shireen Daft (Law School) David Orsmond (Economics) * Charanya Ramakrishnan (Computing) * Anina Rich (Psychological Sciences) * Christian Thomas (Math and Physical Sciences)

Professional staff tomorrow

 South Australian science awards winners are:

* Richard Lilly (Uni Adelaide): STEMM educator, university/RTO * Andre Luiten (Uni Adelaide) : innovator * Maria Makrides (South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute): scientist of the year * Chelsea Thorn (Uni SA): PhD research  * Trinity College SPARK team (Samantha Andonis, Steve Grant, Sion Harman, Wayne Jaeschke): STEMM educator, school * Wei Zhang and Centre for Marine Bioproducts (Flinders U): industry collaboration