All the university honours

New Order of Australia recipients with a present higher and further education or research role are below (with apologies to any CMM missed).


Gregory Clark, physicist, ANU

Rhys Jones, aerospace engineering, Monash U

David Kissane, psychiatry, Monash U

Janet McCalman, history, University of Melbourne

Trevor McDougall, oceanography, UNSW

Lewis Mander, organic chemistry, ANU

Jennifer Martin, biochemistry, Griffith U

Ezio Rizzardo, CRC for Polymers

Jeffrey Rosenfeld, neurosurgery, Monash U

Nicholas Talley, gastroenterology, Uni Newcastle

Maree Teeson, substance abuse, UNSW

Roy Thompson, philanthropy, Uni Sunshine Coast


David Ames, psychiatry, Uni of Melbourne

Martin Banwell, synthetic organic chemistry, ANU

Michael Barber, mathematical physics, National Computational Infrastructure

Mark Burry, architecture, Swinburne U

Michael Coper, legal education, Australian Academy of Law

David Coventry, agriculture, Uni of Adelaide

Hugh Davies, geology, Uni of PNG

Creswell Eastman, medicine, Uni of Sydney

Caroline Finch, sports medicine, Federation U

Suzanne Garland, microbiology, Uni of Melbourne

David Handelsman, medicine, Uni of Sydney

Paul Hemming, higher education administration, Federation U

Anthony Holmes, plastic surgery, Uni of Melbourne

Jonathan Kalman, cardio electrophysiology, Uni of Melbourne

Neville King, cognitive and behaviour therapy, Monash U

Marilyn Lake, social sciences, Uni of Melbourne

Russell Lansbury, industrial relations education, Uni of Sydney

Ronald Mitchell, ophthalmology, Uni of Sydney

Ingrid Moses, higher education, Uni of Canberra

Diana O’Halloran, general practice policy, Uni of Sydney, Western Sydney U

David Sinclair, biology of ageing, Uni of NSW

Scott Sloan, geotechnical engineering, Uni of Newcastle

John Turnidge, infectious diseases, Uni of Adelaide

Laurence Walsh, dentistry, UofQ



Catherine Baxter, education administration, TAFE NSW Robin Bedding, etymology, CSIRO, Michael Bellemore, orthopaedic surgery, Uni of Notre Dame Australia, Sydney, Fiona Blyth, pain management, Uni of Sydney, George Braitberg, emergency medicine, Uni of Melbourne, David Branagan, geology, Uni of Sydney, Stephen Burdon, IT, Uni of Sydney, Shelley Burgin, environmental science, Bond U

Neville Carter, legal education, College of Law, Charlotte Champion de Crespigny, drug and alcohol care, Uni of Adelaide, Colin Chilvers, anaesthesia, Uni of Tasmania, Denis Crane, biochemistry and molecular biology, Griffith U, Maya Cranitch, ESL, Catholic Uni of Australia, Colin Creighton, environmental science, Uni of James Cook

Ian Dunn, legal standards and education, La Trobe U

Susan Elliott, academic administration and gastroenterology, Monash U

David Flanagan, chancellor, Murdoch U

Angelos Frangopoulos, broadcast media and higher education, Charles Sturt U

John Grant-Thomson, bio-medical engineering, Uni of Southern Queensland

Peter Haertsch, plastic surgery, Uni of Sydney, Ian Hammond, gynaecological oncology, UWA, Mary Harris, medical education, Australasian College of Health Service Management, Donald Henry, wildlife preservation, Uni of Melbourne, Patricia Hoffie, visual arts, Griffith U

Peshotan Katrak, rehabilitation medicine, UNSW, John Kelly, treatment of melanoma, Monash U, Leonard Kempler, charitable, education and children’s medical foundations, Questacon, Sharad Kumar, cancer and cell biology, UniSA, Noeline Kyle, higher education, QUT

Jennifer Lang, international student recruitment, UNSW

Peter McNicol, anaesthesiology, ANZ College of Anaesthetists, Henrietta Marrie, indigenous cultural heritage, CQU

Frank Oberklaid, paediatrics, Uni of Melbourne, Hayden Opie, sports law, Uni of Melbourne

Morton Rawlin, medical education, Uni of Sydney, Margaret Rose, animal welfare and science research ethics, UNSW, Jennifer Rosevear, music education, Uni of Adelaide, Christopher Russell, agricultural science, Agriculture Institute of Australia

Norman Saunders, neuroscience, Uni of Melbourne, Russell Scott, chemical engineering professional education, Asia-Pacific Confederation of Chemical Engineering, Andrew Shobbrook, chiropractic education, Council on Chiropractic Education Australasia, David Singleton, sustainable urban infrastructure, Swinburne U, Michael Stanford, heath and tertiary education, Curtin U

Jennifer Thomson, medical education, ANU, Grant Townsend, dentistry, Uni Adelaide, Kelvin Trimper, horticulture, Uni SA, Hugh Tyndale-Biscoe, marsupial reproduction, Australian Academy of Science

Mark Umstad, obstetrics, Uni of Melbourne

Robert Vink, neurotrauma, UniSA

Elsina Wainright, international affairs, Uni of Sydney, Anthony Weiss, biotechnology, Uni of Sydney, Barbara Workman, geriatric medicine, Monash U,  Keith Wortley, criminology, Griffith U


William Adam, rural health, Uni of Melbourne, Anthony Avsec, building and construction, QUT, Agnes Baker, genetics, Monash U, Robert Breen, services to indigenous community and military history, Deakin U, Marjorie Cross, doctors in rural areas, ANU, Mark Davies, neurosurgery, UNSW, Sharyn Eaton, chiropractic medicine, CQU, David Green, emergency medicine, Griffith U, David Hunt, maths education, UNSW, Andrew Luck, colorectal surgery, Uni of Adelaide, Tazuko McLaren, education and Australia-Japan relations, Southern Cross U, John Mitchell, philanthropist, ANU, Essie Mutton, education, University of the Third Age, Julia Raid, ophthalmology and overseas aid, Uni of Melbourne, Garry Traynor adult education, Sydney Community College









to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education