Achievements: including U Newcastle and La Trobe U staff award highlight

Geordie Williamson from the University of Sydney is the Australian Mathematical Society medalist. Peter Taylor from the University of Melbourne receives the George Szekeres Medal for research. The Gavin Brown best paper prize goes to Nicholas Beaton, Jan de Gier, Anthony Guttmann ( Uni of Melbourne), Mireille Bousquet-Melou (Uni Bourdeaux) and Hugo Duminil-Copin (University of Geneva).

Maree O’Keefe,  Uni Adelaide, health and medical sciences, is the (UK based) Higher Education Academy’s 1000th principal fellow. Principal fellows have, “wide-ranging academic or academic-related strategic leadership responsibilities in connection with key aspects of teaching and supporting learning.”

The University of Newcastle has announced its 2018 staff awards. The major category winners are: Teaching excellence, Denise Higgins (Health and Medicine). Professional staff, Jodie Herden, Lyniece Keogh, Paris Knox, Kathryn Sutherland (all Health and Medicine).  Early career researchers, Elise Kalokeronis (Science), Jordan Smith (Education and Arts). Research supervisor, Anna Giacomini (Engineering and Built Environment).

La Trobe U’s (many) staff awards are also released. Winners in some of the notable categories are: VC awards for teaching excellence, Brian Grills (pathophysiology curriculum) and Professional writing teamCatherine Padmore, Hester Joyce, and Tonya Stebbins. Research excellence, Josephine Barbaro from the Olga Tennison Autism Research Centre and the 15 member Rural Medical Model Training Team. VC award for living La Trobe’s cultural qualities, Antonia Lamanna.






to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education