Academy of Health and Medical Sciences fellows and other appointments and achievements

At Uni Newcastle, Tina Crawford, previously director, people and workforce strategy becomes inaugural director, diversity and inclusion.  

The Australian Academy of Science Medal is awarded to Space Agency head Megan Clark and Peter Yates, chair of the Australian Science Media Centre and the Royal Institution of Australia.

Nic Smith is to be the new provost of QUT, commencing March. He joins from the University of Auckland where he is dean of engineering.

Jane Visvader and Geoffrey Lindeman (Walter and Eliza Hall) win the Brinker award for basic science in breast cancer research from Dallas based, Susan G Korman, “the world’s leading breast cancer organisation.”

 The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences announces it elects 42 ordinary and corresponding fellows

Ordinary fellows

Minote Apte, Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research

John Bertram Monash University

Bruce Campbell, Royal Melbourne Hospital

Karen Canfell, Cancer Council NSW

Flavia Cicuttini, Monash University

Clare Collins, Uni Newcastle

Alan Cowman, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute

Jonathan Craig, Flinders University

Tim Davis FAHMS, UWA

Emma Duncan, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital

Sally Dunwoodie Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute

John Findlay AO FAHMS, Hudson Institute of Medical Research

Prue Francis, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Russell Gruen, ANU

Carmel Hawley, Princess Alexandra Hospital (Brisbane)

Paul Hodges, Uni Queensland

Tammy Hoffmann, Bond University

Caroline Homer, Burnet Institute

Jennifer Hoy, Monash University

Ian Jacobs, UNSW

Stephen Jan, George Institute

David Johnson Princess Alexandra Hospital (Brisbane)

Katherine Kedzierska, Uni Melbourne

Richard Kitching, Monash University

Graham Mann, ANU

Sarah Medland, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute

Sandy Middleton, ACU

Tuan Nguyen, Garvan Institute of Medical Research

Mark Parsons, Royal Melbourne Hospital

George Paxinos, Neuroscience Research Australia

David Reutens, Uni Queensland

Gail Risbridger, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Pankaj Sah, Uni Queensland

Monica Slavin, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Karin Thursky, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Balasubramanian Venkatesh, Wesley Hospital (Brisbane)

Sarah Wilson, Uni Melbourne

Mark Woodward, George Institute for Global Health

Paul Young, Uni Queensland

Hala Zreiqat, Uni Sydney

Corresponding fellows

Paul Lambert, University of Wisconsin

Julian Savulescu, Uni Oxford



to get daily updates on what's happening in the world of Australian Higher Education